Celtic Heroes

The Official Forum for Celtic Heroes, the 3D MMORPG for iOS and Android Devices

New mage

Hey guys, I just started a playing mage a couple days ago. This is my first time playing since the destiny update. At least I think that's what it was called. Anyway, I remember Dal Rita being significantly different. The castle got revamped, npcs that used to be across the road are now on the other side of the road. Over all though, I quite like the changes. So my mage is now level 35 in Shalemont at the "other side" quest were you have to cross the bridge kill the trappers/archers. I paused at this point because it's the biggest level gap in the beginning quest line. Killing lvl 37* enemies for one quest and killing lvl 45** for the next and I feel like I need actual build at this point.

I've been doing mostly 3 focus, 2 vit till now but I have only spent 6 skill points. Two in firebolt, two in lure of fire, and two in cloak of fire and I've been using level 1 shards, e-shield and e-boost along with them and been able to kill every enemy I've had to up until this point, but now with the quest jump I need a little more, probably a lot more, fire (or ice) power to get the job done and I don't want to screw myself over at the start by using a bad skill combo.

The reason I don't just go fire is because one, I assume since there are less Ice mages it would be easier to gear that way. Two I'm not buying plat to start, so I really need to be careful with my gold and I have no idea when I'll get fire/ice attunement or storm/blast so I won't really get many benefits from going either or for now and thirdly I just noticed something that makes me doubt if bolt is really better than shards.